49ers Blog and Q&A

News, notes and reader questions about the San Francisco 49ers

September 5, 2013
Oh Kaptain, my Kaptain: 49ers vote for team captains

Colin Kaepernick not only took over Alex Smith's starting job. Now he takes over Smith's team captaincy.

On the 49ers, team captain is a two-year term. Smith was elected captain last year along with Justin Smith. Smith, of course, is now with the Chiefs, meaning his spot was vacant. So the 49ers elected Kaepernick to that spot while also voting in Patrick Willis and, for this week at least, C.J. Spillman as the special teams captain.

Willis and Frank Gore were elected team captains in 2011.

-- Matt Barrows


Matt was born in Blacksburg, Va., and attended the University of Virginia. He graduated in 1995, went to Northwestern for a journalism degree a year later, and got his first job at a South Carolina daily in 1997. He joined The Bee as a Metro reporter in 1999 and started covering the 49ers in 2003. His favorite player of all time is Darrell Green.


November 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Monthly Archives

Ask a question

Please use the form below to submit your question. Because there is a 100-word limit for questions, a word counter is located directly beneath the box where you enter the your question.


49ers Question:

Your letter contains of 100 words allowed.  Count words

Your IP Address has been recorded as and will be included with this submission.