Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger and Senate President Pro Tem Darrell Steinberg today announced their much-anticipated appointments to the Delta Stewardship Council.

The 7-member panel, established as part of the water policy package approved by the Legislature last fall, is charged with crafting and implementing a plan for the future management of Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta. Its dual goals are to address water supply issues and ensure conservation of the estuary's fragile ecosystem.

The legislation splits the responsibility of naming six of the council's members between the governor and legislative leaders. Delta Protection Commission Chairman Don Nottoli is appointed by law as the council's chair.

Schwarzenegger picked two Republicans and two Democrats for his four appointments.

They are: rancher and former Association of California Water Agencies president Randy Fiorini, retired biotech industry executive Hank Nordhoff, lobbyist and former Democratic Assemblyman Philip Isenbergand Natural Heritage Institute director of legal services Richard Roos-Collins.

Steinberg appointed former Democratic state Sen. Patrick Johnston, who currently serves as president of the California Association of Health Plans.

Assembly Speaker Karen Bass has appointed West Basin Municipal Water District member Gloria Gray.

All six positions require Senate confirmation. Excerpts from the statements by Schwarzenegger and Steinberg, including appointee bios, are posted after the jump.

From Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger:

Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger today announced the appointments of Francis Randall "Randy" Fiorini, Philip Isenberg, Henry "Hank" Nordhoff and Richard Roos-Collins to the Delta Stewardship Council.

"The Delta Stewardship Council was established as part of last year's groundbreaking legislation to reform, restore and rebuild California's vital water system. This council will work collaboratively to develop a plan to achieve the co-equal goals of restoring the Delta ecosystem and ensuring water supply reliability," said Governor Schwarzenegger. "Each of these individuals possesses the qualities, experiences and unique perspectives that are necessary to help the council meet these goals and implement the most comprehensive effort in decades to save and restore California's Delta and secure our water supply for the future."

Fiorini, 56, of Turlock, has been managing partner of Fiorini Ranch since 1975 and managing partner of FarmCo since 2001. Previously, he was president of Fiorini Family Vineyards from 2002 to 2008 and owner of Farm Data from 1984 to 2000. Fiorini is past president and board member of the Association of California Water Agencies, past board president and director of Turlock Irrigation District Division #5, and past president and board member of the California Farm Water Coalition. He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in fruit science from California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo. This position requires Senate confirmation and the compensation is $40,669. Fiorini is a Republican.

Isenberg, 71, of Sacramento, has served as president of Isenberg/O'Haren Government Relations since 2005. From 1977 to 2004, he was counsel for Miller, Owens and Trost, Attorneys at Law. Previously, Isenberg served as a member of the California State Assembly representing the 9th District from 1992 to 1996 and the 10th District from 1982 to 1992. From 1975 to 1982, he was mayor of the city of Sacramento. Isenberg served as chair of the California Marine Life Protection Act Blue Ribbon Task Force from 2004 to 2006 and served as chair of the Delta Vision Blue Ribbon Task Force from 2007 to 2008. He is also a member of the Sacramento Valley Conservancy Advisory Board. Isenberg earned a Juris Doctorate degree from the University of California, Berkeley Boalt Hall School of Law and a Bachelor of Arts degree in social science and government from California State University, Sacramento. This position requires Senate confirmation and the compensation is $40,669. Isenberg is a Democrat.

Nordhoff, 68, of Del Mar, was president and chief executive officer of Gen-Probe Incorporated from 1994 until his retirement in 2009. Currently, he serves as chairman. From 1992 to 1994, Nordhoff served as president and chief executive officer of TargeTech and, from 1988 to 1992, he was president and chief executive officer of American Biogenetic Sciences. From 1986 to 1988, Nordhoff was vice president of mergers and acquisition for Sterling Drug Company and from 1970 to 1986, he worked for Pfizer Inc. in the U.S., Europe and Asia. His last position at Pfizer was director of licensing and business development. Nordhoff earned a Master of Business Administration degree in international business and finance from Columbia University and a Bachelor of Arts degree in international relations and political economy from Johns Hopkins University. Nordhoff served in the U.S. Navy from 1963 to 1967. This position requires Senate confirmation and the compensation is $40,669. Nordhoff is a Republican.

Roos-Collins, 56, of Berkeley, has been director of legal services for the Natural Heritage Institute Since 1991. Previously, he served as deputy attorney general of the public rights division for the California Department of Justice from 1989 to 1991. From 1986 to 1989, Roos-Collins was attorney-advisor for the Office of the General Counsel at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. He is co-chair of the Agricultural Water Management Council and a member of the Bay Delta Conservation Plan Steering Committee. Roos-Collins is also director of the Pacific Forest and Watershed Lands Stewardship Council and founding director of the Hydropower Reform Coalition. He earned a Juris Doctorate degree from Harvard Law School and a Bachelor of Arts degree in English from Princeton University. This position requires Senate confirmation and the compensation is $40,669. Roos-Collins is a Democrat.

From Sen. Darrell Steinberg:

Senate President pro Tem Darrell Steinberg (D-Sacramento), Chair of the Senate Rules Committee, today announced he would recommend to the Senate Rules Committee the appointment of former state Senator Patrick Johnston to the Delta Stewardship Council.

"Pat Johnston is uniquely qualified to serve on the Stewardship Council," Steinberg said. "His extensive experience in state government, coupled with his deep understanding and longtime representation of the Delta region, makes him an ideal choice. We are fortunate to have his service."

"I'm pleased to be a member of the Delta Stewardship Council," Johnston said. "This assignment presents a great opportunity for me to continue the decades-long work to restore the Delta while ensuring water supply reliability for millions of Californians."

From 1980-1990, Johnston served in the state Assembly and represented portions of the Delta along with areas of Sacramento and San Joaquin Counties. In 1990, Johnston was elected to the state Senate from the region, where he served until 2000. During that time, he chaired the Senate Appropriations Committee and served as a member of the Natural Resources and Wildlife Committee and the Agriculture and Water Committee.

Johnston was the author of numerous bills on water, natural resources, and agriculture. In 1992, he authored the landmark Delta Protection Act (SB 1866 (Stats 1992, ch. 898), legislation that sought to preserve and protect the natural ecosystem and unique character of the Delta. Johnston is currently President of the California Association of Health Plans.


More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

Popular Categories

Now on


November 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Monthly Archives

Latest California Clips