Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

Fees for birth and death certificates would rise under a proposed state law that cleared its final legislative hurdle late Thursday night.

The Assembly approved Senate amendments to the bill, 44-23, sending it to Gov. Jerry Brown.

Assembly Bill 1053, by Menlo Park Democratic Assemblyman Richard Gordon, would raise the base fee for birth and death records by $6 - consisting of $2 increments for three consecutive years, beginning in January 2012.

Most counties currently charge $9 for a certified copy of a fetal death record and $12 for a certified copy of a death record, according to an Assembly analysis of Gordon's proposal.

Most counties current charge applicants -- other than government agencies or adoption agencies -- $16 for a certified copy of a birth certificate.

Counties would retain 85 percent of revenue from the proposed increases, while the state would receive the remainder.

Most Democrats supported AB 1053. Twenty-three Republicans voted no and five abstained or were absent.


More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

Popular Categories

Now on


November 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Monthly Archives

Latest California Clips