Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

October 15, 2011
Former California legislator, U.S. Senate hopeful moving to Texas

Thumbnail image for Thumbnail image for RB Chuck Devore 2.JPGCalifornia Republicans often point to the Lone Star state's economy as a model their home state should seek to emulate.

Now, one well-known GOP official got tired of pointing and has decided to pack up his bags and leave the Golden State.

Former GOP Assemblyman and U.S. Senate hopeful Chuck DeVore has given up his Orange County supervisor bid to move his family to Texas. While caring for aging parents was one factor in the move, the Irvine Republican also blamed California's economic climate, writing in a statement on his website that he's "found it hard to earn enough to support my family" since leaving office last year.

"My old aerospace clientele has fled to greener, less-expensive pastures Combined with the drain on our savings caused by six years of public service in the Assembly, we have come to the reluctant conclusion that it is time to move," DeVore wrote.

DeVore has accepted a new job as a visiting scholar at the nonprofit Texas Public Policy Foundation, where he will write a book on "the Texas Model of how low taxes and low government spending, a light and predictable regulatory environment, respect for property rights, and a business-friendly legal climate has turned Texas into America's jobs generating dynamo."

He won't be the only California transplant working for the Texas Public Policy Foundation. Joshua Treviño, a former legislative and campaign aide to DeVore, serves as the institute's director of communications.

PHOTO CREDIT: U.S. Senate candidate, Assemblyman Chuck Devore, R-Irvine talks with Bee reporters at the Sacramento Bee Capitol bureau office in Sacramento on Wednesday, March 17, 2010. Randall Benton, Sacramento Bee.



FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

Capitol Alert Staff


Jeremy White Jeremy B. White covers California politics and edits Capitol Alert's mobile Insider Edition. jwhite@sacbee.com. Twitter: @capitolalert

Amy Chance Amy Chance is political editor for The Sacramento Bee. achance@sacbee.com. Twitter: @Amy_Chance

Dan Smith Dan Smith is Capitol bureau chief for The Sacramento Bee. smith@sacbee.com

Christopher Cadelago Christopher Cadelago covers California politics and health care. ccadelago@sacbee.com. Twitter: @ccadelago

Micaela Massimino Micaela Massimino edits Capitol Alert. mmassimino@sacbee.com

Laurel Rosenhall Laurel Rosenhall covers the Legislature, the lobbying community and higher education. lrosenhall@sacbee.com. Twitter: @LaurelRosenhall

David Siders David Siders covers the Brown administration. dsiders@sacbee.com. Twitter: @davidsiders

Dan Walters Dan Walters is a columnist for The Sacramento Bee. dwalters@sacbee.com. Twitter: @WaltersBee

More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

FOLLOW US | Get more from sacbee.com | Follow us on Twitter | Become a fan on Facebook | Watch Bee news, lifestyle videos | View our mobile versions | e-edition: Print edition online | What our bloggers are saying

Popular Categories

Categories


November 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Monthly Archives


Latest California Clips