Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

November 19, 2011
Think Long coalition to propose California tax overhaul

By Torey Van Oot and Kevin Yamamura

A coalition backed by some of the biggest names in California politics and a billionaire financier is readying for the ballot a sweeping overhaul of the Golden State's tax system.

The proposed initiative is part of a series of recommendations for "remedying what ails California governance" drafted by Think Long Committee for California, an independent coalition focused on long-term fixes for Golden State governance.

The committee's 23-page report, set to be released Monday, is the product of more than a year of collaboration by some of California's most influential political minds. The bipartisan work group included former governors, legislative leaders, and U.S. secretaries of state, seasoned state finance directors and leaders in business and labor unions.

"This is one of those things where people really didn't have any interest, they were just trying to find a vision to fix California. Everyone was focused on the long term," said former Assembly Speaker Bob Hertzberg, a member of the committee. "As Washington is in gridlock, maybe California can lead the way again by showing that we know how to fix things."

November 19, 2011
Jerry Brown leaves California on vacation, destination unknown

Gov. Jerry Brown has left the state for parts unknown.

Brown's office announced this afternoon that the Democratic governor had left the state, but it declined to say where Brown is going or for how long.

"We don't discuss the details of his private vacation," Brown spokeswoman Elizabeth Ashford said.

The trip is Brown's third out of state since he took office in January. His previous two trips were to Las Vegas for public events.

Lt. Gov. Gavin Newsom is acting governor while Brown is out of state.



FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

Capitol Alert Staff


Jeremy White Jeremy B. White covers California politics and edits Capitol Alert's mobile Insider Edition. jwhite@sacbee.com. Twitter: @capitolalert

Amy Chance Amy Chance is political editor for The Sacramento Bee. achance@sacbee.com. Twitter: @Amy_Chance

Dan Smith Dan Smith is Capitol bureau chief for The Sacramento Bee. smith@sacbee.com

Christopher Cadelago Christopher Cadelago covers California politics and health care. ccadelago@sacbee.com. Twitter: @ccadelago

Micaela Massimino Micaela Massimino edits Capitol Alert. mmassimino@sacbee.com

Laurel Rosenhall Laurel Rosenhall covers the Legislature, the lobbying community and higher education. lrosenhall@sacbee.com. Twitter: @LaurelRosenhall

David Siders David Siders covers the Brown administration. dsiders@sacbee.com. Twitter: @davidsiders

Dan Walters Dan Walters is a columnist for The Sacramento Bee. dwalters@sacbee.com. Twitter: @WaltersBee

More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

FOLLOW US | Get more from sacbee.com | Follow us on Twitter | Become a fan on Facebook | Get news in your inbox | View our mobile versions | e-edition: Print edition online | What our bloggers are saying

Popular Categories

Categories


November 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Monthly Archives


Latest California Clips