Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

April 4, 2012
Jerry Brown stops collecting signatures for first tax measure

Gov. Jerry Brown has stopped collecting signatures for his original ballot measure to raise taxes, satisfied that signature gathering for a compromise initiative is progressing quickly enough to qualify it for the November ballot, an adviser said this afternoon.

"We are confident in the progress the coalition is making towards qualifying the new measure for the November ballot," political adviser Steve Glazer said.

Glazer said the decision to stop collecting signatures for Brown's original initiative was reached today.

The Democratic governor and the California Federation of Teachers, which had proposed its own tax initiative, agreed last month to a compromise proposal that includes a smaller sales tax increase but larger income tax increase on the state's highest earners than Brown originally proposed. Even after announcing the deal, Brown kept collecting signatures for his original initiative.

April 4, 2012
Chat live: Primary 2012: Assembly District 6


April 4, 2012
Dan Walters Daily: Don't schools get plenty of Lottery money?

VIDEO: Dan Walters explains why the state Lottery isn't a windfall for California schools.

Have a question you'd like Dan to answer? Post it on our Facebook page.

See other Dan Walters Daily clips here.

Read Dan Walters' columns here.

April 4, 2012
AM Alert: Occupy movement takes on clear-cutting

Windfall? Or just an advertising slogan? In today's video report, Dan Walters talks about the money that the Lottery provides for California's schools.

The Bee kicks off a series of weekly live chats today that we'll be running every Wednesday between now and the June 5 primary.

First up, we look at the race in the new 6th Assembly District, where Folsom lawyer Andy Pugno is challenging a fellow Republican, Assemblywoman Beth Gaines.

Pugno has declined to participate, but Gaines will join Democratic rival Regy Bronner to answer readers' questions during the chat, which Torey Van Oot will moderate. Find it at this link from 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Members of the Occupy movement and forest activists are gathering at Sacramento's Cesar Chavez Park at 9th and I streets at 11 a.m. before marching a few blocks away to the state Board of Forestry and Fire Protection at 1416 9th Street to demand an end to clear-cutting.

Assemblyman Jeff Gorell, R-Camarillo, will get an official welcome home from Afghanistan tonight at an event from 5 to 7 p.m. at California Lutheran University's Gilbert Sports and Athletic Center Arena in Thousand Oaks. For more information, click here.



FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

Capitol Alert Staff


Jeremy White Jeremy B. White covers California politics and edits Capitol Alert's mobile Insider Edition. jwhite@sacbee.com. Twitter: @capitolalert

Amy Chance Amy Chance is political editor for The Sacramento Bee. achance@sacbee.com. Twitter: @Amy_Chance

Dan Smith Dan Smith is Capitol bureau chief for The Sacramento Bee. smith@sacbee.com

Christopher Cadelago Christopher Cadelago covers California politics and health care. ccadelago@sacbee.com. Twitter: @ccadelago

Micaela Massimino Micaela Massimino edits Capitol Alert. mmassimino@sacbee.com

Laurel Rosenhall Laurel Rosenhall covers the Legislature, the lobbying community and higher education. lrosenhall@sacbee.com. Twitter: @LaurelRosenhall

David Siders David Siders covers the Brown administration. dsiders@sacbee.com. Twitter: @davidsiders

Dan Walters Dan Walters is a columnist for The Sacramento Bee. dwalters@sacbee.com. Twitter: @WaltersBee

More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

Popular Categories

Now on sacbee.com/politics

Categories


November 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Monthly Archives


Latest California Clips