Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

April 28, 2012
Former state Sen. Daniel Boatwright dies

Former Democratic state Sen. Daniel Boatwright died Friday at his Clayton home at age 82.

Boatwright, of Concord, served in the Legislature for 23 years, retiring from the Senate in 1996. He then began a lobbying career, working for Sacramento Advocates until retiring in 2010.

Gov. Jerry Brown issued a statement this afternoon: "Dan Boatwright was a dedicated legislator, an early proponent of a national balanced budget amendment and a very good representative of Contra Costa County. I enjoyed his friendship and I will miss him."

According to an obituary the family provided to Claycord.com, he is survived by his wife Teresa, three sons and five grandchildren.

Visitation is planned for from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. at Ouimet Bros. Funeral Home in Concord. A service is scheduled for Saturday at at 11 a.m. at the Church of Christ in Martinez.

Editor's Note: This post was updated to reflect that the family issued the obituary to Claycord.com. Updated at 6:19 p.m., April 28, 2012.




FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

Capitol Alert Staff


Jeremy White Jeremy B. White covers California politics and edits Capitol Alert's mobile Insider Edition. jwhite@sacbee.com. Twitter: @capitolalert

Amy Chance Amy Chance is political editor for The Sacramento Bee. achance@sacbee.com. Twitter: @Amy_Chance

Dan Smith Dan Smith is Capitol bureau chief for The Sacramento Bee. smith@sacbee.com

Christopher Cadelago Christopher Cadelago covers California politics and health care. ccadelago@sacbee.com. Twitter: @ccadelago

Micaela Massimino Micaela Massimino edits Capitol Alert. mmassimino@sacbee.com

Laurel Rosenhall Laurel Rosenhall covers the Legislature, the lobbying community and higher education. lrosenhall@sacbee.com. Twitter: @LaurelRosenhall

David Siders David Siders covers the Brown administration. dsiders@sacbee.com. Twitter: @davidsiders

Dan Walters Dan Walters is a columnist for The Sacramento Bee. dwalters@sacbee.com. Twitter: @WaltersBee

More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

FOLLOW US | Get more from sacbee.com | Follow us on Twitter | Become a fan on Facebook | Get news in your inbox | View our mobile versions | e-edition: Print edition online | What our bloggers are saying

Popular Categories

Categories


November 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Monthly Archives


Latest California Clips