Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

September 23, 2012
Jerry Brown vetoes 'wrong way' Sacramento-San Francisco commute bill

Gov. Jerry Brown has put the brakes on a San Francisco Democratic lawmaker's effort to ease the "wrong way" morning commute between the Bay Area and Sacramento.

The Democratic governor vetoed Assembly Bill 2200 by Assemblywoman Fiona Ma, his office announced today.

Ma's measure would have lifted restrictions for the eastbound carpool lane on Interstate 80 from the Bay Bridge to the Carquinez Bridge during the morning commute, giving Bay Area-to-Sacramento drivers an extra lane to help ease the trip.

But Brown, who likely has made similar trips from his Oakland Hills home to the Capitol on some weekdays, was having none of it.

"Encouraging carpooling is important to reduce pollution and make more efficient use of our highways," he wrote in his veto message. "This bill goes in a wrong direction."



FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

Capitol Alert Staff


Jeremy White Jeremy B. White covers California politics and edits Capitol Alert's mobile Insider Edition. jwhite@sacbee.com. Twitter: @capitolalert

Amy Chance Amy Chance is political editor for The Sacramento Bee. achance@sacbee.com. Twitter: @Amy_Chance

Dan Smith Dan Smith is Capitol bureau chief for The Sacramento Bee. smith@sacbee.com

Christopher Cadelago Christopher Cadelago covers California politics and health care. ccadelago@sacbee.com. Twitter: @ccadelago

Micaela Massimino Micaela Massimino edits Capitol Alert. mmassimino@sacbee.com

Laurel Rosenhall Laurel Rosenhall covers the Legislature, the lobbying community and higher education. lrosenhall@sacbee.com. Twitter: @LaurelRosenhall

David Siders David Siders covers the Brown administration. dsiders@sacbee.com. Twitter: @davidsiders

Dan Walters Dan Walters is a columnist for The Sacramento Bee. dwalters@sacbee.com. Twitter: @WaltersBee

More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

Popular Categories

Now on sacbee.com/politics

Categories


November 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Monthly Archives


Latest California Clips