Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

October 7, 2012
Former CA Lt. Gov. Mervyn Dymally dies at 86

Mervyn Dymally, a former California lieutenant governor who served in Congress and the state Legislature, has died, CBS Los Angeles reported tonight. He was 86.

Dymally's wife said in a statement reported by the CBS affiliate that her husband "passed away very peacefully" in Los Angeles this morning.

"He lived a very extraordinary life and had no regrets," the statement read.

The news of the longtime politician's passing spread quickly on social media Sunday evening.

"Prayers to family and friends of Hon. #MervynDymally. My revered mentor. 52AD thanks you for your lifetime service" Assemblyman Isadore Hall, D-Compton, posted on Twitter.

The full CBS LA story is posted at this link.

October 7, 2012
Jerry Brown calls for switch to winter-blend fuel to ease gas prices

Gov. Jerry Brown called on state regulators today to allow the early sale of less expensive, winter-blend gasoline in California, a measure he said could bring down spiking fuel prices.

"Gas prices in California have risen to their highest levels ever, with unacceptable cost impacts on consumers and small businesses," the Democratic governor said in a prepared statement. "I am directing the Air Resources Board to immediately take whatever steps are necessary to allow an early transition to winter-blend gasoline."

Brown's action follows a request by the California Independent Oil Marketers Association for permission to produce winter-blend fuel before the state's typical, Oct. 31 switchover date. The request is subject to review by the California Energy Commission.

October 7, 2012
Molly Munger calls Jerry Brown's ads 'utterly deceptive,' plans to counter

Accusing Gov. Jerry Brown of running "utterly deceptive" ads in his campaign to raise taxes, Molly Munger said on a Los Angeles TV show this morning that her own tax campaign will air television ads making a "distinction" between her measure and Brown's.

Munger, the chief proponent of Proposition 38, said on NBC 4's "News Conference" that a series of ads released by Brown last week unfairly cast his initiative, Proposition 30, as the most helpful for schools.

"It is utterly deceptive," she said. "And so you really can't be in a situation where 30, which is really a budget patch, is going around saying that it's the schools initiative, when we - who are really the schools initiative - you know, are being asked not to say anything."

Munger said, "If you're going to say that you're something you're not, we do have to say, 'Well, actually, that's not the case.'"



FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

Capitol Alert Staff


Jeremy White Jeremy B. White covers California politics and edits Capitol Alert's mobile Insider Edition. jwhite@sacbee.com. Twitter: @capitolalert

Amy Chance Amy Chance is political editor for The Sacramento Bee. achance@sacbee.com. Twitter: @Amy_Chance

Dan Smith Dan Smith is Capitol bureau chief for The Sacramento Bee. smith@sacbee.com

Christopher Cadelago Christopher Cadelago covers California politics and health care. ccadelago@sacbee.com. Twitter: @ccadelago

Micaela Massimino Micaela Massimino edits Capitol Alert. mmassimino@sacbee.com

Laurel Rosenhall Laurel Rosenhall covers the Legislature, the lobbying community and higher education. lrosenhall@sacbee.com. Twitter: @LaurelRosenhall

David Siders David Siders covers the Brown administration. dsiders@sacbee.com. Twitter: @davidsiders

Dan Walters Dan Walters is a columnist for The Sacramento Bee. dwalters@sacbee.com. Twitter: @WaltersBee

More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

FOLLOW US | Get more from sacbee.com | Follow us on Twitter | Become a fan on Facebook | Watch Bee news, lifestyle videos | View our mobile versions | e-edition: Print edition online | What our bloggers are saying

Popular Categories

Categories


November 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Monthly Archives


Latest California Clips