Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

Some of the California Legislature's newest members are adding more than an elected title to their resume as the 2013-2014 session begins.

New leadership assignments announced by Assembly Speaker John A. Pérez today put five Democratic freshman members of the Assembly in a caucus post, with more than a dozen more controlling a committee gavel as they begin what could be 12 years in the lower house. Returning Democratic Assemblyman Roger Hernández, who has been in the news over allegations of driving under the influence and other bad behavior, will not serve as Democratic whip, a position previously announced.

The Senate has not released its full committee chair lineup for the new session, but Democrats announced that they have retained Sen. Ellen Corbett, D-San Leandro, as majority leader. Newly elected Sen. Hannah-Beth Jackson, D-Santa Barbara, was added to the Rules Committee roster, along with Democratic Sen. Kevin de León and Republican Sens. Bill Emmerson and Jean Fuller. Senate Republicans announced that Sen. Ted Gaines, R-Rocklin, will serve as caucus chair.

Pérez , Assembly GOP leader Connie Conway, Senate President Pro Tem Darrell Steinberg, and Senate GOP leader Bob Huff will all remain in their leadership posts.

The full list of Assembly leadership assignments is posted after the jump, with new members designated with an asterisk.

Speaker pro Tempore: Assemblywoman Nora Campos, D-San Jose
Assistant Speaker pro Tempore: Assemblyman Kevin Mullin, D-South San Francisco*
Majority Floor Leader: Assemblywoman Toni Atkins, D-San Diego
Assistant Majority Floor Leader: Assemblyman Anthony Rendon, D-Lakewood*
Majority Whip: Assemblyman Chris R. Holden, D-Pasadena*
Democratic Whip: Jimmy Gomez, D-Los Angeles*
Democratic Whip: V. Manuel Pérez, D-Coachella
Democratic Caucus Chair: Philip Y. Ting, D-San Francisco*
Rules Committee Chair: Nancy Skinner, D-Berkeley
Accountability and Administrative Review: Assemblyman Jim Frazier, D-Oakley*
Aging and Long-Term Care: Assemblywoman Mariko Yamada, D-Davis
Agriculture: Assemblywoman Susan Talamantes Eggman, D-Stockton*
Appropriations: Assemblyman Mike Gatto, D-Los Angeles
Arts, Entertainment, Sports, Tourism and Internet Media: Assemblyman Ian Calderon, D-Whittier*
Banking and Finance: Assemblyman Roger Dickinson, D-Sacramento
Budget: Assemblyman Bob Blumenfield, D-Los Angeles
Budget Subcommittee No. 1 on Health and Human Services: Assemblywoman Holly J. Mitchell, D-Los Angeles
Budget Subcommittee No. 2 on Education Finance: Assemblywoman Susan A. Bonilla, D-Concord
Budget Subcommittee No. 3 on Resources and Transportation: Assemblyman Richard Bloom, D-Santa Monica*
Budget Subcommittee No. 4 on State Administration: Assemblyman Tom Daly, D-Anaheim*
Budget Subcommittee No. 5 on Public Safety: Assemblyman Reggie Jones-Sawyer, Sr., D-Los Angeles*
Budget Subcommittee No. 6 on Budget Process, Oversight and Program Evaluation: Assemblyman Bob Blumenfield, D-Los Angeles
Business, Professions and Consumer Protection: Assemblyman Richard Gordon, D-Menlo Park
Education: Assemblywoman Joan Buchanan, D-Alamo
Elections and Redistricting Assemblyman Paul Fong, D-Cupertino
Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials: Assemblyman Luis Alejo, D-Watsonville
Governmental Organization: Assemblyman Isadore Hall, D-Compton
Health: Assemblyman Richard Pan, D-Sacramento
Higher Education: Assemblyman Das Williams, D-Santa Barbara
Housing and Community Development: Assemblywoman Norma Torres, D-Pomona
Human Services: Assemblyman Mark Stone, D-Scotts Valley*
Insurance: Assemblyman Henry Perea, D-Fresno
Jobs, Economic Development, and the Economy: Assemblyman Jose Medina, D-Riverside*
Judiciary: Assemblyman Bob Wieckowski, D-Fremont
Labor and Employment: Assemblyman Roger Hernández, D-West Covina
Local Government: Assemblyman Katcho Achadjian, R-San Luis Obispo
Natural Resources: Assemblyman Wesley Chesbro, D-Eureka
Public Employees, Retirement and Social Security: Assemblyman Rob Bonta, D-Alameda*
Public Safety: Assemblyman Tom Ammiano, D-San Francisco
Revenue and Taxation: Assemblyman Raul Bocanegra, D-Pacoima*
Transportation: Assemblywoman Bonnie Lowenthal, D-Long Beach
Utilities and Commerce: Assemblyman Steven Bradford, D-Gardena
Veterans Affairs: Assemblyman Al Muratsuchi, D-Torrance*
Water, Parks and Wildlife: Assemblyman Ben Hueso, D-San Diego
Joint Legislative Audit: Assemblyman Adam Gray, D-Merced*
Assembly Legislative Ethic: Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia,* D-Bell Gardens, and Assemblyman Alan Mansoor, R-Costa Mesa
Select Committee on Agriculture and the Environment: Assemblyman Marc Levine, D-San Rafael*
Select Committee on Community Colleges: Assemblyman Steve Fox, D-Lancaster*
Select Committee on Job Creation for the New Economy, Assemblywoman Sharon Quirk-Silva, D-Fullerton*
Select Committee on Regional Approaches to Addressing the State's Water Crisis: Assemblyman Rudy Salas, D-Bakersfield*
Select Committee on Regional Transportation Solutions: Assemblywoman Sharon Quirk-Silva, D-Fullerton*
Select Committee Workforce and Vocational Development in California: Assemblyman Rudy Salas, D-Bakersfield*


More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

Popular Categories

Now on


November 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Monthly Archives

Latest California Clips