Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

February 23, 2013
Jerry Brown's Ouija board 'not operative' in Washington

WASHINGTON - Gov. Jerry Brown was talking with reporters today about the Affordable Care Act and sequestration when Politico's Jonathan Martin asked him to weigh in on gun control and a few other matters of national concern.

"Look, I don't read these national papers," Brown said, as if he had not spent more than an hour and a half in a hotel lobby that morning with Thomas Friedman, the famous New York Times columnist.

Martin pressed, and Brown said, "So what's your point, you want me to comment on what's going on in Washington?"

Brown, in Washington for a meeting of the nation's governors, repeated opinions he has shared before about gun control, and Martin moved on. He noted the political success Democrats have had in California recently, and he asked, "What's the formula?"

"What's the formula?" Brown said. "You know that, it's like Coca-Cola, we don't reveal our formula. Why should we tell you guys?"

Brown did say Hillary Clinton would "probably" clear the Democratic field if she runs for president in 2016.

"But I don't know for sure," Brown said. "I mean, how do I know? These are all fortune telling questions, and my Ouija board is not operative in Washington."

February 23, 2013
Jerry Brown presses Washington for 'broad authority' on health care

brownDC.JPG
WASHINGTON - Gov. Jerry Brown said today that he remains concerned about California's ability to control costs as the state moves to expand health care coverage under the Affordable Care Act, seeking assurances from the Obama administration that California will have "broad authority" to curb future spending.

"We need to be able to control costs, period," the Democratic governor told reporters at a meeting of the National Governors Association. "And the federal government has the tendency to send out broad mandates and limit the state's authority, and then we have to come hat in hand and say, 'Please, let us manage this thing that you have thrust on us.'"

His remarks come a year after Brown lobbied federal officials unsuccessfully for authorization to enact certain cuts to Medi-Cal, part of the federal Medicaid program.



FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

Capitol Alert Staff


Jeremy White Jeremy B. White covers California politics and edits Capitol Alert's mobile Insider Edition. jwhite@sacbee.com. Twitter: @capitolalert

Amy Chance Amy Chance is political editor for The Sacramento Bee. achance@sacbee.com. Twitter: @Amy_Chance

Dan Smith Dan Smith is Capitol bureau chief for The Sacramento Bee. smith@sacbee.com

Christopher Cadelago Christopher Cadelago covers California politics and health care. ccadelago@sacbee.com. Twitter: @ccadelago

Micaela Massimino Micaela Massimino edits Capitol Alert. mmassimino@sacbee.com

Laurel Rosenhall Laurel Rosenhall covers the Legislature, the lobbying community and higher education. lrosenhall@sacbee.com. Twitter: @LaurelRosenhall

David Siders David Siders covers the Brown administration. dsiders@sacbee.com. Twitter: @davidsiders

Dan Walters Dan Walters is a columnist for The Sacramento Bee. dwalters@sacbee.com. Twitter: @WaltersBee

More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

FOLLOW US | Get more from sacbee.com | Follow us on Twitter | Become a fan on Facebook | Get news in your inbox | View our mobile versions | e-edition: Print edition online | What our bloggers are saying

Popular Categories

Categories


November 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Monthly Archives


Latest California Clips