Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

June 8, 2013
Jerry Brown says Chinese president adds 'sparkle' to California

brownjinping.jpgGov. Jerry Brown continued his courtship of China on Saturday, meeting with the nation's president, Xi Jinping, in Indian Wells.

The meeting followed Brown's week-long trade mission to China in April. The Democratic governor is seeking to attract Chinese investment in California, including in public infrastructure such as high-speed rail.

"I first of all told the president and his wife that they added sparkle and excitement to our state," Brown told reporters after the meeting, according to The Desert Sun. "And then we discussed the way that California can work with a number of provinces in China to advance our mutual goals of new energy technologies, agriculture, tourism and exchange of students and scientists."

The two leaders met for about 40 minutes, according to The Desert Sun. Xi said seeing Brown was like seeing "an old friend of mine," while Brown told the Chinese president "you grace our state with your presence," according to the newspaper.

Xi was in Rancho Mirage for meetings Friday and Saturday with President Barack Obama.

PHOTO CREDIT: Xi Jinping, left, then vice president of China, talks with Calif. Gov. Jerry Brown, center, and Los Angeles Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa, right, as they watch the Los Angeles Lakers play the Phoenix Suns on Feb. 17, 2012, in Los Angeles. Mark J. Terrill/Associated Press file



FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

Capitol Alert Staff


Jeremy White Jeremy B. White covers California politics and edits Capitol Alert's mobile Insider Edition. jwhite@sacbee.com. Twitter: @capitolalert

Amy Chance Amy Chance is political editor for The Sacramento Bee. achance@sacbee.com. Twitter: @Amy_Chance

Dan Smith Dan Smith is Capitol bureau chief for The Sacramento Bee. smith@sacbee.com

Christopher Cadelago Christopher Cadelago covers California politics and health care. ccadelago@sacbee.com. Twitter: @ccadelago

Micaela Massimino Micaela Massimino edits Capitol Alert. mmassimino@sacbee.com

Laurel Rosenhall Laurel Rosenhall covers the Legislature, the lobbying community and higher education. lrosenhall@sacbee.com. Twitter: @LaurelRosenhall

David Siders David Siders covers the Brown administration. dsiders@sacbee.com. Twitter: @davidsiders

Dan Walters Dan Walters is a columnist for The Sacramento Bee. dwalters@sacbee.com. Twitter: @WaltersBee

More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

FOLLOW US | Get more from sacbee.com | Follow us on Twitter | Become a fan on Facebook | Get news in your inbox | View our mobile versions | e-edition: Print edition online | What our bloggers are saying

Popular Categories

Categories


November 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Monthly Archives


Latest California Clips