Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

July 6, 2013
Former Jerry Brown aide among consultants blacklisted by labor

Glazer.jpgThe California Labor Federation, an ally of Gov. Jerry Brown, has formally blacklisted Brown's former political adviser, Steve Glazer, and pollster Jim Moore, punishing them for their work in two divisive Assembly races last year.

The labor federation recently posted on its website a "California Labor 'Do Not Hire' List," rebuking Glazer (right), Moore and four other consultants for their involvement "in two campaigns in 2012 that directly attacked labor unions and caused damage to the labor movement."

The campaigns were Democrat-versus-Democrat Assembly races that pitted labor against the California Chamber of Commerce, whose influential political action committee Glazer advised. Glazer and the other consultants did work opposing incumbent lawmakers Michael Allen and Betsy Butler or supporting their opponents, Marc Levine and Richard Bloom, respectively. The challengers were successful in both races, in the Santa Rosa and Los Angeles areas.

The "do not hire" list names consultants Glazer, Moore, Dave Metz, Jim Stearns, Jim Crounse and Sean Sullivan. Labor Federation spokesman Steve Smith said the list was published within the past two weeks, after federation officials decided in May to blacklist the consultants.



FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

Capitol Alert Staff


Jeremy White Jeremy B. White covers California politics and edits Capitol Alert's mobile Insider Edition. jwhite@sacbee.com. Twitter: @capitolalert

Amy Chance Amy Chance is political editor for The Sacramento Bee. achance@sacbee.com. Twitter: @Amy_Chance

Dan Smith Dan Smith is Capitol bureau chief for The Sacramento Bee. smith@sacbee.com

Christopher Cadelago Christopher Cadelago covers California politics and health care. ccadelago@sacbee.com. Twitter: @ccadelago

Micaela Massimino Micaela Massimino edits Capitol Alert. mmassimino@sacbee.com

Laurel Rosenhall Laurel Rosenhall covers the Legislature, the lobbying community and higher education. lrosenhall@sacbee.com. Twitter: @LaurelRosenhall

David Siders David Siders covers the Brown administration. dsiders@sacbee.com. Twitter: @davidsiders

Dan Walters Dan Walters is a columnist for The Sacramento Bee. dwalters@sacbee.com. Twitter: @WaltersBee

More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

FOLLOW US | Get more from sacbee.com | Follow us on Twitter | Become a fan on Facebook | Get news in your inbox | View our mobile versions | e-edition: Print edition online | What our bloggers are saying

Popular Categories

Categories


November 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Monthly Archives


Latest California Clips