Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

September 21, 2013
Jerry Brown puts another voluntary check-off on state tax form

cleanup.JPGGov. Jerry Brown marked California Coastal Cleanup Day by announcing he has signed legislation creating a voluntary check-off box on the state's income tax form for a fund supporting coastal conservation.

The fund has lots of company - 18 existing voluntary contribution funds support everything from cancer research to school supplies for homeless children - and is one of the least controversial measures Brown will sign this year.

In addition to a handful of Republican lawmakers, however, was one entity close to Brown that registered its opposition.

"This bill is of limited value as there is nothing currently preventing California taxpayers from contributing directly to this cause if they so choose," Brown's own Department of Finance said in a bill analysis. "It is not clear that a special preference should be given to the grants and programs supported by this tax check-off, as compared to other organizations also dedicated to preserving and enhancing California's coastal resources."

Because taxpayers who contribute to the fund are allowed to claim an itemized deduction in the following year, the department said the bill could result in lost revenue to the general fund of $10,000 annually.

Brown issued a statement touting the annual California Coastal Cleanup Day and Assembly Bill 754, by Assemblyman Al Muratsuchi, D-Torrance.

"The beauty and allure of California's coast is unrivaled," the Democratic governor said in a prepared statement, "and this bill gives taxpayers a simple way to help keep it that way."

PHOTO: A family prepares to cross a bridge over the Calaveras River in Stockton on their bicycles, while a sign marks a gathering place for volunteers picking up trash in the area on Sept. 21, 2013. The Sacramento Bee/David Siders



FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

Capitol Alert Staff


Jeremy White Jeremy B. White covers California politics and edits Capitol Alert's mobile Insider Edition. jwhite@sacbee.com. Twitter: @capitolalert

Amy Chance Amy Chance is political editor for The Sacramento Bee. achance@sacbee.com. Twitter: @Amy_Chance

Dan Smith Dan Smith is Capitol bureau chief for The Sacramento Bee. smith@sacbee.com

Christopher Cadelago Christopher Cadelago covers California politics and health care. ccadelago@sacbee.com. Twitter: @ccadelago

Micaela Massimino Micaela Massimino edits Capitol Alert. mmassimino@sacbee.com

Laurel Rosenhall Laurel Rosenhall covers the Legislature, the lobbying community and higher education. lrosenhall@sacbee.com. Twitter: @LaurelRosenhall

David Siders David Siders covers the Brown administration. dsiders@sacbee.com. Twitter: @davidsiders

Dan Walters Dan Walters is a columnist for The Sacramento Bee. dwalters@sacbee.com. Twitter: @WaltersBee

More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

FOLLOW US | Get more from sacbee.com | Follow us on Twitter | Become a fan on Facebook | Watch Bee news, lifestyle videos | View our mobile versions | e-edition: Print edition online | What our bloggers are saying

Popular Categories

Categories


November 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Monthly Archives


Latest California Clips