Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

October 6, 2013
Voter ID measure softened, embraced by California GOP

stee.jpgANAHEIM - The California Republican Party embraced a tea-party backed resolution urging adoption of a voter identification law Sunday, after the measure was softened considerably to remove any reference to photo identification.

The adopted resolution calls on the state Legislature "to enact a law which requires voters to identify themselves as registered voters whether they vote in person or by mail," but is sufficiently vague that at least some members of the party believed the identification could be verbal.

Leonard Stone, a tea party member and delegate from El Granada, in San Mateo County, said of the amendment, "I'm OK to see this happen progressively."

The newly-formed Tea Party California Caucus, a coalition of tea party groups from throughout the state, was a force at the convention, where ideological rifts have arisen in previous years between moderate and conservative elements of the party.

But the tea party members were applauded when party chairman Jim Brulte said at the general session Sunday, "If you're with the tea party, why don't you stand and let us welcome you."

The state party closed its biannual gathering with little drama on the convention floor, in stark contrast to the intensity in Washington around the government shutdown. In the time reserved for a report on goings-on in Congress, Brulte offered delegates just five words.

"Congress," he said, "is very, very busy."

PHOTO: Shawn Steel, the Republican National Committeeman from California, speaks to a delegate at the California Republican Party's biannual convention in Anaheim on Oct. 6, 2013. The Sacramento Bee/David Siders



FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

Capitol Alert Staff


Jeremy White Jeremy B. White covers California politics and edits Capitol Alert's mobile Insider Edition. jwhite@sacbee.com. Twitter: @capitolalert

Amy Chance Amy Chance is political editor for The Sacramento Bee. achance@sacbee.com. Twitter: @Amy_Chance

Dan Smith Dan Smith is Capitol bureau chief for The Sacramento Bee. smith@sacbee.com

Christopher Cadelago Christopher Cadelago covers California politics and health care. ccadelago@sacbee.com. Twitter: @ccadelago

Micaela Massimino Micaela Massimino edits Capitol Alert. mmassimino@sacbee.com

Laurel Rosenhall Laurel Rosenhall covers the Legislature, the lobbying community and higher education. lrosenhall@sacbee.com. Twitter: @LaurelRosenhall

David Siders David Siders covers the Brown administration. dsiders@sacbee.com. Twitter: @davidsiders

Dan Walters Dan Walters is a columnist for The Sacramento Bee. dwalters@sacbee.com. Twitter: @WaltersBee

More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

FOLLOW US | Get more from sacbee.com | Follow us on Twitter | Become a fan on Facebook | Watch Bee news, lifestyle videos | View our mobile versions | e-edition: Print edition online | What our bloggers are saying

Popular Categories

Categories


November 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Monthly Archives


Latest California Clips