Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

October 25, 2013
AM Alert: How would rising seas affect California infrastructure?

MAJPORTOFOAK.JPGFrom ports to airports to wastewater treatment plants, infrastructure across coastal California could suffer some of the deleterious effects of swelling sea levels.

A hearing today, conducted jointly by the Assembly select committees on Ports and on Sea Level Rise and the California Economy (respectively) will examine the implications. Assembly members Rich Gordon and Bonnie Lowenthal will preside over the proceedings.

Witnesses will include officials from the ports of Long Beach, Oakland and Los Angeles; representatives of airports in Santa Barbara, San Diego and San Francisco; and Garth Hopkins of the California Department of Transportation and Roger Johnson of the California Energy Commission. From 1 to 5 p.m. at the Aquarium of the Pacific in Long Beach.

VIDEO: The Coast Guard has gone overboard in trying to correct some shoddy practices, Dan Walters says.

KANYE KASH: His uncle Tom Calderon recently abandoned a bid to replace his other uncle Ron in the state Senate, but Assemblyman Ian Calderon, D-Whittier, is keeping the family tradition alive by seeking a sophomore term representing the 57th Assembly District. And he's maintaining his cred as the Legislature's youngest member with a fly fundraiser on Saturday. For $2,000, donors can back the 28-year-old legislator and snag a ticket to the Kanye West show at the Staples Center in Los Angeles. (Although we're not sure how this compares to Assemblyman Isadore Hall's Beyoncé fundraiser back in July.)

DISNEY DEMS: If you have a few thousand dollars to burn and hip-hop isn't your thing, you can head over to Disneyland to back either the re-election bid of Democratic Sen. Marty Block of San Diego, former Assemblyman Jose Solorio's attempt to return to the Legislature, or Solorio's ballot measure committee Prosperity for California. The cost of magic runs from $1,500 to $5,500, depending on how much enchantment you're after.

CELEBRATIONS: We have two birth anniversaries this weekend, both on Sunday: Sen. Mark Wyland, R-Solano Beach, turns 67, and Secretary of State Debra Bowen celebrates her 58th.

PHOTO: Container ships dock at the Port of Oakland on May 5, 2007. The Sacramento Bee/Michael A. Jones.

October 25, 2013
Dan Walters Daily: California National Guard going too far

Years after a Sacramento Bee investigation found lapses at the California National Guard, Dan says the guard has reacted overzealously.

Have a question you'd like Dan to answer? Post it on our Facebook page.

See other Dan Walters Daily clips here.



FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

Capitol Alert Staff


Jeremy White Jeremy B. White covers California politics and edits Capitol Alert's mobile Insider Edition. jwhite@sacbee.com. Twitter: @capitolalert

Amy Chance Amy Chance is political editor for The Sacramento Bee. achance@sacbee.com. Twitter: @Amy_Chance

Dan Smith Dan Smith is Capitol bureau chief for The Sacramento Bee. smith@sacbee.com

Christopher Cadelago Christopher Cadelago covers California politics and health care. ccadelago@sacbee.com. Twitter: @ccadelago

Micaela Massimino Micaela Massimino edits Capitol Alert. mmassimino@sacbee.com

Laurel Rosenhall Laurel Rosenhall covers the Legislature, the lobbying community and higher education. lrosenhall@sacbee.com. Twitter: @LaurelRosenhall

David Siders David Siders covers the Brown administration. dsiders@sacbee.com. Twitter: @davidsiders

Dan Walters Dan Walters is a columnist for The Sacramento Bee. dwalters@sacbee.com. Twitter: @WaltersBee

More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

FOLLOW US | Get more from sacbee.com | Follow us on Twitter | Become a fan on Facebook | Watch Bee news, lifestyle videos | View our mobile versions | e-edition: Print edition online | What our bloggers are saying

Popular Categories

Categories


November 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Monthly Archives


Latest California Clips