Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

December 21, 2013
Former FPPC chair Dan Schnur plans run for statewide office

ha_schnur7656.JPG

Dan Schnur is on the cusp of taking on two seemingly contradictory campaigns: One promotes new restrictions on political fundraising. The other involves running for office, complete with his own political fundraising apparatus.

Schnur, a former Republican adviser who now teaches politics at the University of Southern California, said he's in the "final stages" of preparing a run for California Secretary of State in 2014. Other likely candidates include Democratic state Sens. Leland Yee and Alex Padilla; Democrat Derek Cressman, a government watchdog; and Republican Pete Peterson, who heads an academic public policy institute.

Schnur left the Republican party in 2011, after a stint chairing California's Fair Political Practices Commission. He said he would run for secretary of state as a nonpartisan, and has assembled a campaign staff that includes prominent Democratic and Republican consultants and fundraisers.

At the same time, Schnur said he will continue a publicity campaign he launched earlier this year to argue for new limits on political fundraising. Legislators and statewide office holders shouldn't be able to raise money for their re-election campaigns during the legislative session, Schnur says, because there is too much potential for donors to exert inappropriate influence on their votes. He wants to ban fundraising while the Legislature is in session.

Schnur said his two approaches -- speaking out against political fundraising while engaging in the fundraising efforts necessary to run a statewide campaign -- are not at all contradictory.

"We look at this candidacy as the most effective way of moving that fundraising ban forward," Schnur said. "A candidate campaign allows for broader conversation about how to fix a broken system than a single ballot initiative might."



FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

Capitol Alert Staff


Jeremy White Jeremy B. White covers California politics and edits Capitol Alert's mobile Insider Edition. jwhite@sacbee.com. Twitter: @capitolalert

Amy Chance Amy Chance is political editor for The Sacramento Bee. achance@sacbee.com. Twitter: @Amy_Chance

Dan Smith Dan Smith is Capitol bureau chief for The Sacramento Bee. smith@sacbee.com

Christopher Cadelago Christopher Cadelago covers California politics and health care. ccadelago@sacbee.com. Twitter: @ccadelago

Micaela Massimino Micaela Massimino edits Capitol Alert. mmassimino@sacbee.com

Laurel Rosenhall Laurel Rosenhall covers the Legislature, the lobbying community and higher education. lrosenhall@sacbee.com. Twitter: @LaurelRosenhall

David Siders David Siders covers the Brown administration. dsiders@sacbee.com. Twitter: @davidsiders

Dan Walters Dan Walters is a columnist for The Sacramento Bee. dwalters@sacbee.com. Twitter: @WaltersBee

More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

FOLLOW US | Get more from sacbee.com | Follow us on Twitter | Become a fan on Facebook | Watch Bee news, lifestyle videos | View our mobile versions | e-edition: Print edition online | What our bloggers are saying

Popular Categories

Categories


December 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        

Monthly Archives


Latest California Clips