Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

December 22, 2013
Casino pays out for Jerry Brown

RP_GOVERNOR_PROP _30_SIGN.JPG
Gov. Jerry Brown has raised more than $500,000 more for his re-election campaign, including $37,500 from a casino he visited earlier this month.

The donation, from Hawaiian Gardens Casino, was received last week and reported Saturday. Brown traveled to Los Angeles County to speak at a groundbreaking ceremony at the casino on Dec. 2. The casino previously donated $12,500 to Brown's re-election campaign and $25,000 to his ballot initiative last year to raise taxes, Proposition 30.

The administration has said the casino expansion will create hundreds of local jobs, and Brown said at the event, "I come here today because I want to recognize a family and a business that is contributing to the local community."

The Democratic governor has not yet said if he will seek re-election next year, but he has now raised more than $15 million and is widely expected to run.

Other donations listed in Brown's most recent filing include $27,200 each from Anthem Blue Cross, a California Hospital Association political action committee and Jay Gellert, president and chief executive officer of Health Net Inc.

Donors contributing the maximum allowed, $54,400, include Chester Pipkin, president and chief executive officer of Belkin International Inc., a plumbers and steamfitters local and a political action committee of The Doctors Company, a medical malpractice insurer.

Two Republican candidates, former Lt. Gov. Abel Maldonado and Assemblyman Tim Donnelly, R-Twin Peaks, have reported raising less than $500,000 combined, while a prospective candidate, former U.S. Treasury Department official Neel Kashkari, has not yet started raising money.

Brown leads all three men by wide margins in early polls.

PHOTO: Students cheer on Gov. Jerry Brown who holds up a campaign sign and encourages students to support Proposition 30 at Sacramento City College on October 18, 2012.The Sacramento Bee/Randy Pench



FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

Capitol Alert Staff


Jeremy White Jeremy B. White covers California politics and edits Capitol Alert's mobile Insider Edition. jwhite@sacbee.com. Twitter: @capitolalert

Amy Chance Amy Chance is political editor for The Sacramento Bee. achance@sacbee.com. Twitter: @Amy_Chance

Dan Smith Dan Smith is Capitol bureau chief for The Sacramento Bee. smith@sacbee.com

Christopher Cadelago Christopher Cadelago covers California politics and health care. ccadelago@sacbee.com. Twitter: @ccadelago

Micaela Massimino Micaela Massimino edits Capitol Alert. mmassimino@sacbee.com

Laurel Rosenhall Laurel Rosenhall covers the Legislature, the lobbying community and higher education. lrosenhall@sacbee.com. Twitter: @LaurelRosenhall

David Siders David Siders covers the Brown administration. dsiders@sacbee.com. Twitter: @davidsiders

Dan Walters Dan Walters is a columnist for The Sacramento Bee. dwalters@sacbee.com. Twitter: @WaltersBee

More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

FOLLOW US | Get more from sacbee.com | Follow us on Twitter | Become a fan on Facebook | Get news in your inbox | View our mobile versions | e-edition: Print edition online | What our bloggers are saying

Popular Categories

Categories


December 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        

Monthly Archives


Latest California Clips