Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

January 12, 2014
Jerry Brown hits the road for post-budget swing inland

brownchamberbreakfast.jpgFollowing the release of his new spending plan last week, Gov. Jerry Brown will hit the road Monday for a two-day swing through Fresno, Bakersfield and Riverside.

The trip, including private meetings with local officials and media availabilities in each city, comes ahead of Brown's State of the State address later this month. The third-term Democrat, who travels relatively infrequently, said in October he was hoping to get out more to "get a real-world feel of what's under my responsibility."

Brown, who is preparing for a likely re-election bid this year, will meet with education, water, agriculture, law enforcement and other leaders, his office said in its announcement of the trip Sunday.

"It's an opportunity to get out of Sacramento ... engage with local leaders on some of the big challenges California's facing," spokesman Evan Westrup said.

He said Brown does not plan on the trip to participate in any political events or fundraising.

Brown made his annual budget presentation in Sacramento on Thursday, before visiting Los Angeles and San Diego that same day to promote the proposal.

PHOTO: Gov. Jerry Brown speaks at the California Chamber of Commerce's annual host breakfast in Sacramento on May 22, 2013. The Associated Press/Rich Pedroncelli



FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

Capitol Alert Staff


Jeremy White Jeremy B. White covers California politics and edits Capitol Alert's mobile Insider Edition. jwhite@sacbee.com. Twitter: @capitolalert

Amy Chance Amy Chance is political editor for The Sacramento Bee. achance@sacbee.com. Twitter: @Amy_Chance

Dan Smith Dan Smith is Capitol bureau chief for The Sacramento Bee. smith@sacbee.com

Christopher Cadelago Christopher Cadelago covers California politics and health care. ccadelago@sacbee.com. Twitter: @ccadelago

Micaela Massimino Micaela Massimino edits Capitol Alert. mmassimino@sacbee.com

Laurel Rosenhall Laurel Rosenhall covers the Legislature, the lobbying community and higher education. lrosenhall@sacbee.com. Twitter: @LaurelRosenhall

David Siders David Siders covers the Brown administration. dsiders@sacbee.com. Twitter: @davidsiders

Dan Walters Dan Walters is a columnist for The Sacramento Bee. dwalters@sacbee.com. Twitter: @WaltersBee

More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

Popular Categories

Now on sacbee.com/politics

Categories


January 2014

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  

Monthly Archives


Latest California Clips