Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

May 24, 2014
Longtime lawmaker John Vasconcellos, self esteem champion, dies at 82

DS_VASCONCELLOS_resized.JPG
Former California lawmaker John Vasconcellos, who advanced groundbreaking measures during nearly 40 years in the Legislature, has died. He was 82.

Board of Equalization member Betty Yee said friends of Vasconcellos learned of his death early Saturday afternoon.

"Difficult day for many, myself included," Yee said.

Former lawmaker John Burton called Vasconcellos a "man of great heart, of great intellect and great compassion."

"John wore his compassion on his sleeve," Burton said, describing Vasconcellos as the Legislature's "conscience on the budget" and other issues.

"The bad part is he has left us. The good part is that he isn't suffering," Burton added of his former colleague.

Vasconcellos served from 1966 through 2004 in the Assembly and Senate, and for many years chaired the powerful then-Ways and Means Committee in the Assembly. He carried legislation on topics ranging from improving students' self esteem and improving the higher education system to increasing patients' access to medical marijuana.

Former lawmaker Art Torres said in an e-mail that Vasconcellos "was like a big brother to me and my family and especially my son Joaquin."

"I'm heartbroken," Torres said Saturday.

Photo gallery: John Vasconcellos' legislative days

PHOTO: Former state Sen. John Vasconcellos, D-Santa Clara, makes a telephone call from the floor of the Senate chambers in February 2003, during his final term in the Legislature. The Sacramento Bee / Dick Schmidt



FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

Capitol Alert Staff


Amy Chance Amy Chance is political editor for The Sacramento Bee. achance@sacbee.com. Twitter: @Amy_Chance

Dan Smith Dan Smith is Capitol bureau chief for The Sacramento Bee. smith@sacbee.com. Twitter: @DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller Jim Miller covers California policy and politics and edits Capitol Alert. jmiller@sacbee.com. Twitter: @jimmiller2

David Siders David Siders covers the Brown administration. dsiders@sacbee.com. Twitter: @davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago Christopher Cadelago covers California politics and health care. ccadelago@sacbee.com. Twitter: @ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall Laurel Rosenhall covers the Legislature, the lobbying community and higher education. lrosenhall@sacbee.com. Twitter: @LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy White Jeremy B. White covers the Legislature. jwhite@sacbee.com. Twitter: @capitolalert

Koseff Alexei Koseff edits Capitol Alert's mobile Insider Edition. akoseff@sacbee.com. Twitter: @akoseff

Dan Walters Dan Walters is a columnist for The Sacramento Bee. dwalters@sacbee.com. Twitter: @WaltersBee

More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

Popular Categories

Now on sacbee.com/politics

Categories


May 2014

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Monthly Archives


Latest California Clips