Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

May 26, 2014
VIDEO: California lawmakers extend deadline to improve monument

Soldado.jpegCalifornia lawmakers last week approved a bill aimed at rehabilitating and expanding a crumbling monument that honors Latinos who served in the armed services.

Both houses voted to send Gov. Jerry Brown Senate Bill 722 by Sen. Lou Correa, D-Anaheim, to extend for two years the amount of time state officials have to raise private funds for the project. The monument, known as El Soldado, was first dedicated after World War II in 1951 and moved to its present location, at 10th Street and Capitol Mall across from the west steps of the Capitol, in 1975.

Previous legislation created a committee to solicit designs and private donations for the project. The monument is in disrepair and rehabilitation efforts have yet to succeed. Current law requires all the money in the account - about $300,000, to revert to the general fund on July 1 if the project is not done. SB 722 would delay that date for two years.

The Department of Veterans Affairs estimates the project's cost at about $1 million.

PHOTO: El Soldado monument across from the Capitol. The Sacramento Bee/Dan Smith.



FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

Capitol Alert Staff


Amy Chance Amy Chance is political editor for The Sacramento Bee. achance@sacbee.com. Twitter: @Amy_Chance

Dan Smith Dan Smith is Capitol bureau chief for The Sacramento Bee. smith@sacbee.com. Twitter: @DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller Jim Miller covers California policy and politics and edits Capitol Alert. jmiller@sacbee.com. Twitter: @jimmiller2

David Siders David Siders covers the Brown administration. dsiders@sacbee.com. Twitter: @davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago Christopher Cadelago covers California politics and health care. ccadelago@sacbee.com. Twitter: @ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall Laurel Rosenhall covers the Legislature, the lobbying community and higher education. lrosenhall@sacbee.com. Twitter: @LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy White Jeremy B. White covers the Legislature. jwhite@sacbee.com. Twitter: @capitolalert

Koseff Alexei Koseff edits Capitol Alert's mobile Insider Edition. akoseff@sacbee.com. Twitter: @akoseff

Dan Walters Dan Walters is a columnist for The Sacramento Bee. dwalters@sacbee.com. Twitter: @WaltersBee

More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

Popular Categories

Now on sacbee.com/politics

Categories


May 2014

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Monthly Archives


Latest California Clips