Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government


Leaders of the Assembly and Senate on Thursday appointed eight lawmakers to serve on the Legislature's budget-writing panel.

The budget conference committee will reconcile differences between the spending plans adopted in each house and produce a final package to go before lawmakers by the June 15 constitutional deadline.

Senate President Pro Tem Darrell Steinberg, D-Sacramento, named Sens. Mark Leno, D-San Francisco, Jim Nielsen, R-Gerber, Ricardo Lara, D-Bell Gardens, and Loni Hancock, D-Berkeley to the conference committee. Leno leads the Senate budget committee and Nielsen is vice-chairman. Hancock leads the panel's public safety subcommittee.

Assembly Speaker Toni G. Atkins, D-San Diego, named Asembly members Nancy Skinner, D-Berkeley, Jeff Gorrell, R-Camarillo, Shirley N. Weber, D-San Diego, and Richard Bloom, D-Santa Monica, to the conference committee. Skinner leads the Assembly budget committee and Gorrell is its top Republican. Bloom leads the panel's resources and transportation subcommittee and Weber chairs its health and human services subcommittee.

Skinner will chair the conference committee.

PHOTO: Gov. Jerry Brown speaks to state Sen. Mark Leno, D-San Francisco, and then-Assemblyman Bob Blumenfield, D-Los Angeles, during a budget conference committee meeting in February 2011. The Sacramento Bee/Hector Amezcua


More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

Popular Categories

Now on


May 2014

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Monthly Archives

Latest California Clips