Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government

June 28, 2014
Jerry Brown keeps gloves off California bartenders, chefs

Thumbnail image for Thumbnail image for Thumbnail image for brownbudget.JPGThree days before health officers in California were expected to begin enforcing legislation requiring bartenders and chefs to wear gloves when handling ready-to-eat food, Gov. Jerry Brown announced Saturday he has signed a bill repealing the legislation.

The measure reverses legislation Brown signed last year prohibiting retail food employees from handling ready-to-eat food with bare hands. The new legislation instead requires food employees to "minimize" bare hand contact.

The original bill was part of a broader food safety code package approved by lawmakers without opposition. Since the bill was enacted last year, however, many restaurant and bar owners raised objections, saying the rule would require employees to constantly change gloves and could lead them to wash their hands less frequently.

"It didn't sound that dissimilar to the existing law, which said that we should minimize hand contact and that there should be good hand-washing procedures," Assemblyman Richard Pan, D-Sacramento, the author of both the original and revised bill, said in February.

After the original legislation passed, Pan said, "we started hearing from local restaurants, smaller restaurants, and also bartenders about the impact it would have on them."
Assembly Bill 2130, the legislation repealing the regulation, passed without opposition, and Brown signed it without comment.

The bill was one of 15 measures Brown announced signing Saturday. Among other bills, he signed Assembly Bill 129, by Assemblyman Roger Dickinson, D-Sacramento, legalizing the use of alternative currencies such as Bitcoin.

June 28, 2014
Jerry Brown elevates former aide's position on court

ha_david_siders_jim_humes_2011.JPGTwo years after naming longtime aide Jim Humes to the First District Court of Appeal, Gov. Jerry Brown announced Saturday that he has appointed Humes presiding justice of the court's first division.

Humes, 54, of San Francisco, was an executive secretary to Brown in the governor's office and was chief deputy attorney general when Brown was attorney general. He will fill the vacancy created by the retirement of Justice James Marchiano, the governor's office said.

Humes is the first openly gay justice to serve on the California Court of Appeal.

The appointment was one of six judicial appointments announced Saturday, including two on the First District Court of Appeal.

Other than Humes, Brown named Therese Stewart, chief deputy city attorney in San Francisco, to the court's second division. She argued on behalf of San Francisco in litigation against Proposition 8, California's now-invalidated same-sex marriage ban, the governor's office said.

Like Brown, both Humes and Stewart are Democrats.

The appointments both fill vacancies created by retirements, Brown's office said. The pay for each position is $207,463 a year. The positions require confirmation by the Commission on Judicial Appointments.

PHOTO: Jim Humes, right, talks to Bee reporter David Siders in January 2011. Hector Amezcua / Sacramento Bee file, 2011.



FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

Capitol Alert Staff


Amy Chance Amy Chance is political editor for The Sacramento Bee. achance@sacbee.com. Twitter: @Amy_Chance

Dan Smith Dan Smith is Capitol bureau chief for The Sacramento Bee. smith@sacbee.com. Twitter: @DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller Jim Miller covers California policy and politics and edits Capitol Alert. jmiller@sacbee.com. Twitter: @jimmiller2

David Siders David Siders covers the Brown administration. dsiders@sacbee.com. Twitter: @davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago Christopher Cadelago covers California politics and health care. ccadelago@sacbee.com. Twitter: @ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall Laurel Rosenhall covers the Legislature, the lobbying community and higher education. lrosenhall@sacbee.com. Twitter: @LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy White Jeremy B. White covers the Legislature. jwhite@sacbee.com. Twitter: @capitolalert

Koseff Alexei Koseff edits Capitol Alert's mobile Insider Edition. akoseff@sacbee.com. Twitter: @akoseff

Dan Walters Dan Walters is a columnist for The Sacramento Bee. dwalters@sacbee.com. Twitter: @WaltersBee

More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

Popular Categories

Now on sacbee.com/politics

Categories


July 2014

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    

Monthly Archives


Latest California Clips