Capitol Alert

The latest on California politics and government


A leadership shuffle in the California State Senate rippled through Sacramento-area legislative races on Tuesday, as the departure of Senate President Pro Tem Darrell Steinberg, D-Sacramento, later this year set off a cascade of competitive contests in Democrat-heavy districts.

Here are the results from Sacramento-area campaigns for seats in the state Legislature, with 100 percent of precincts reporting but with thousands of provisional and mail ballots still to count.

6th Senate District

Two Democratic Assembly members from Sacramento, Roger Dickinson and Richard Pan, emerged as the top vote-getters in the contest to succeed Steinberg. Dickinson outpaced Pan with 40.2 percent of the vote against Pan's 31.2 percent.

3rd Assembly District

With Assemblyman Dan Logue, R-Marysville, leaving the seat, representatives of both major parties moved on to November. Republican James Gallagher and Democrat Jim Reed claim spots on the fall ballot. Gallagher won 43.4 of the vote, Reed 34.9 percent.

4th Assembly District

Another seat thrown open by an incumbent leaving – in this case, term limits forced out Assemblywoman Mariko Yamada, D-Davis. Her potential replacements remained locked in a close race with all precincts reporting: Democrat Bill Dodd, Democrat Dan Wolk and Republican Charlie Schaupp all claimed about 25 percent of the vote.

7th Assembly District

Democratic Sacramento City Council members Steve Cohn and Kevin McCarty will square off for a chance to claim the seat Dickinson is leaving for a shot at the Senate. McCarty secured 34.6 percent of the vote, while Cohn had 28.4 percent.

8th Assembly District

First-term incumbent Assemblyman Ken Cooley, D-Rancho Cordova, cruised to the top spot. He'll try to fend off a November campaign by second-place finisher and former legislative staffer Republican Douglas Haaland. Cooley received 52.1 percent while Haaland secured 40.9 percent.

9th Assembly District

Two Democrats advanced in an overwhelmingly Democratic district: Elk Grove City Councilman Jim Cooper and Sacramento City Councilman Darrell Fong. Pan left this seat to run for the Senate against Dickinson. Cooper earned 31.4 percent of the vote against 28.6 percent for Fong.

A handful of drama-free races featured only two candidates, guaranteeing that both moved on. Those contests:

1st Assembly District

No nails bitten here. The only two candidates advance in the heavily Republican rural district, with incumbent Assemblyman Brian Dahle, R-Bieber, to face Democratic challenger Brigham Sawyer Smith. Dahle eclipsed Smith by a 69-to-31 margin.

6th Assembly District

Incumbent Assemblywoman Beth Gaines, R-Rocklin, sailed into first place with 63 percent of the vote and will meet Democrat Brian Caples in November.

11th Assembly District

Freshman Assemblyman Jim Frazier, D-Oakley, and Republican challenger Alex Henthorn, will face each other again in the fall; Frazier got 60.8 percent of the vote against 39.2 percent for Henthorn.

4th Senate District

Sen. Jim Nielsen, R-Gerber, and Democrat CJ Jawahar advance, with Nielsen netting a convincing 63 percent of the vote.

8th Senate District

See you in November, Assemblyman Tom Berryhill, R-Twain Harte, and Democrat Paulina Miranda. Incumbent Berryhill (64.4 percent) emerges as the clear favorite over Miranda (35.6 percent) in the vote totals.

PHOTO: Assemblyman Roger Dickinson, D-Sacramento, spoke to reporters in April 2014 about rail cargo safety. The Sacramento Bee/Randall Benton


More Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert on Twitter

Popular Categories

Now on


June 2014

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          

Monthly Archives

Latest California Clips