September 20, 2012
50 inducted into McClatchy's first hall of fame ceremony tonight

A 75-year anniversary celebration dinner and the first class of inductees into the McClatchy High School Athletic Hall of Fame was held tonight at the Riverside Elks Lodge in Sacramento.

The first group of inductees -- 48 athletes and two coaches -- come from those who competed in the school's first 25 years, from 1937 to 1962.

Also honored were the undefeated 1944 and 1947 McClatchy football teams; the 1951-1952 baseball teams that won 40 consecutive games; the league champion 1958 baseball team; and the Lions' section championship 1959 and 1960 cross country teams.

Hall of Fame inductees also will be honored at Friday's McClatchy football game against Valley at Hughes Stadium.

Here is a list of tonight's individual inductees:

1938-52 Jack Mauger Coach, Track, Cross Country
1939 Ernie Maskovich Basketball, Baseball
1941 Fred Wristen Football, Track, Basketball, Baseball
1942 Norm Greenslate Baseball
1942-67 George Bican Coach, Football
1943 George Vernatchi Baseball, Basketball, Track
1945 Roy Sules Football, Baseball
1945 Pete Peletta Basketball
1948 Tony Geremia Football,
1948 Roger Osenbaugh Baseball
1948 Vernon Sampson Football,
1948 Del Rasmussen Football, Basketball, Baseball
1948 John Pappa Football, Track,
1949 Bill Burns Football
1949 Al Ricci Basketball, Baseball
1949 Bob Farmer Football
1950 Tony Stathos Baseball
1950 Dave Thomas Football, Basketball, Track, Baseball
1951 Gene Cronin Football
1951 J. C. Masters Baseball, Basketball
1951 Barbara Romack Other, LPGA Professional
1952 Herb Jackson Football, Track,
1952 Earl Rose Baseball
1952 Dick Traversi Baseball, Basketball
1952 Pete Stathos Baseball
1953 Bob Warren Football
1953 Alan Geiberger Golf
1954 Bill Werry Baseball, Basketball,
1954 Frank Geremia Football, Basketball, Track
1954 Gus Gianulias Football, Baseball, Basketball
1954 Bill Whiteneck Football, Baseball, CKM Coach
1954 Ralph Rose Baseball
1955 Allen Wimberley Football, Baseball, Basketball, Track
1956 Les Waters Track
1957 Rich Shafer Baseball
1957 Dave Roberts Football,
1958 Doug Graham Football
1958 Jack Marchaend Baseball, Basketball,
1958 Roger Swearingen Football, Baseball, CKM Coach
1958 Dee Lewis Baseball, Basketball
1960 Dennis Davidson Track, Cross Country
1960 Tom Green Basketball
1960 Starr Walton Other, Winter Olympics
1961 Gary Kerns Football, Baseball
1961 Rich Pesavento Football, Baseball
1962 Steve Radich Football
1962 Tom Relles Football, Baseball
1962 Bill Proffit Football
1962 Ed Sullivan Basketball

About the Prep blog

Bee staff writers Joe Davidson and Bill Paterson provide news, analysis and insight on the area high school sports scene in their Prep Blog. Have a question to ask them? Send them an email any time at or

Subscribe to Sports Breaking News alerts

Find us on Facebook

Prep Blog on Twitter

Follow "sacbee_preps" and "Sb_joedavidson" on Twitter

November 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Monthly Archives