January 25, 2013
Sacramento Running Association to induct 8 into Hall of Fame and honor others

The Sacramento Running Association will induct eight members into its inaugural Hall of Fame class Saturday at a dinner at the Sheraton Grand Hotel.


They are legendary track and field names Rae Clark, Eileen Claugus, Chris Iwahashi, Helen Klein, Billy Mills, Paul Reese, Dennis Rinde and Linda Somers Smith.

The event also includes an Annual Achievement Awards for the area's top runners in track, road racing, cross country and ultra running.

The high school honorees include Trent Brendel and Maggie Bell of Granite Bay, Madeleine Ankhelyi of Vista del Lago, Edixon Puglisi of Oakmont and UC Santa Barbara and decades-long coaches in John DuCray of St. Francis and Bob King of Del Campo. For a complete list, go here or go to www.runsra.org for more information.

* Clark - Known as the running Renaissance Man for winning races in record times on the road, track and trail and was in 2011 inducted into the American Ultrarunning Hall of Fame.

* Iwahashi - Competed in more than 160 marathons, including three victories in the Napa Valley Marathon and wins across the country and in France. She started the Team in Training program in Sacramento in mentoring many local athletes.

* Mills - Won the gold in the 10,000 meters in the 1964 Olympic Games in Tokoyo, surging past favorite Ron Clarke of Australia in a then-Olympic time of 28 minutes, 24.4 seconds, nearly 50 seconds better than his previous best. He remains the only American to win Olympic gold in that event. The Fair Oaks resident is the national spokesperson for Running Strong for American Indian Youth.

* Reese - A former Marine Colonel founded the Clarksburg Country Run and the Lake Tahor 72-miler. He was an early member of the Buffalo Chips Running Club and was the race director for the Capitol-to-Capitol 140-mile run and the Sunkist 100. Reese died in 2004. At 73, he ran 3,192 miles over 124 days - across the country - at the age of 73.

* Somers Smith - The former tennis player didn't pick up running until college at UC Davis. After college, she won the Chicago Marathon in 1992, then won back-to-back marathon championships with wins in the California International Marathon in 1993, and Grandma's Marathon in 1994

Other honorees include Trent Brendel, boys cross country athlete; Maggie Bell,
girls cross country athlete; Bob King, boys cross country coach; John DuCray, girls
cross country coach; Edixon Puglisi, boys track athlete; Madeleine Ankhelyi, girls track
athlete; and Donene Vukovich, girls track coach.

Brendan Gregg will receive the men's college track athlete of the year, with Deborah
Maier earning the women's track athlete honor. Other college honorees include Trevor
Halsted, men's cross country athlete; Sarah Sumpter, women's cross country athlete;
Rick Anderson, men's cross country coach; and Drew Wartenberg, women's cross country and track coach.

Olympian Kim Conley, the women's track athlete of the year, heads the open division.
Other honorees include German Fernandez, men's track athlete; Lindsay Tollefson,
women's cross country, road racing and marathon athlete; Kevin Pool, men's cross
country and road racing athlete; Tim Tollefson, men's marathon athlete; Jacob Rydman,
men's ultra athlete; and Rory Bosio, women's ultra athlete.

Masters honorees include Marcelo Lerda, men's cross country athlete; Karen Jeffers,
women's cross country athlete; Chris Knorzer, men's road racing and marathon athlete;
Midori Sperandeo, women's road racing athlete; Mary Coordt, women's marathon
athlete; Rich Hanna, men's ultra athlete; and Jennifer Pfeifer, women's ultra athlete.

Seniors honorees include Kevin Ostenberg, men's cross country athlete; Sara Freitas,
women's cross country athlete; Iain Mickle, men's road racing athlete; Janice Kesterson,
women's road racing athlete; Jacob Nur, men's marathon athlete; Rena Lantz, women's
marathon athlete; Lee McKinley, men's ultra athlete; and Karen Bonnett, women's ultra

The SRA will also honor several super seniors: Adam Ferreira, men's cross country
athlete; Yvonne Nickel, women's road racing athlete; Mike Ammon, men's road racing
athlete; Richard Powers, men's marathon athlete; Nancy March, women's marathon
athlete; Larry Cawthon, men's ultra athlete; and Barbara Ashe, women's ultra athlete.

Men's cross country athlete Robert Seldner, men's road racing athlete Ronald Gross and women's road racing athlete Rusty Barnett are the veterans honorees.

The Sacramento Running Association is a non-profit organization dedicated to finding
ways to encourage people of all ages and abilities to run. The SRA is committed to
developing new, quality running events that appeal to a broad variety of runners.

SRA events include the recently concluded California International Marathon, the Super
Bowl Sunday 10k Run on Feb. 3, the Credit Union SACTOWN Ten-Mile Run on April 7
and the Lake Natoma Four Bridges Half Marathon on Oct. 27.

SRA beneficiaries include the American River Parkway, youth fitness programs, local
running venues and aspiring young runners.

See www.runsra.org for more information and see here for more bios.

Bee file photo by Randy Pench: Billy Mills, the Olympic gold medalist in the 10,000 meters in 1964 poses with his medal Thursday, May 13, 2004.

- Joe Davidson with special thanks to John Schumacher
- On Twitter: @SacBee_JoeD

About the Prep blog

Bee staff writers Joe Davidson and Bill Paterson provide news, analysis and insight on the area high school sports scene in their Prep Blog. Have a question to ask them? Send them an email any time at jdavidson@sacbee.com or bpaterson@sacbee.com.

Subscribe to Sports Breaking News alerts

Find us on Facebook

Prep Blog on Twitter

Follow "sacbee_preps" and "Sb_joedavidson" on Twitter

November 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Monthly Archives