December 2, 2013
One-stop Bee Sac-Joaquin football playoffs shopping: video, story links, rankings

The Bee's Joe Davidson and Mike Finnerty of SureWest Sports break down the Sac-Joaquin Section football playoffs with commentary and video highlights.

Who wins now, and why?

For more section playoff football news and notes, go here...

And here...

And here...

For a Bee insider look at how college coaches moving on impacts area recruiting and an update on former area stars in college, go here...

For an ESPN1320 Sacramento Bee and SureWest Sports podcast to break down outgoing senior football stars and to preview the title games, go here...

The Bee's Top 20
1. Folsom (13-0)
In beating Jesuit 42-35, Jake Browning accounted for 3 touchdowns and the Bulldogs reached a section title game for the fourth successive season. Folsom is 27-1 that last two years. Wins this year include Oak Ridge, Granite Bay, Jesuit, Pleasant Grove and Franklin.
2. Del Oro (11-2)
The Golden Eagles beat Yuba City 56-26 to remain unbeaten in section play with wins over Grant, Rocklin and Granite Bay. The last loss was to De La Salle. DO seeks its ninth section title since 1989.
3. Oak Ridge (12-1)
The Trojans beat Pleasant Grove 26-20 to reach the D-I finals for the second successive season. Other wins inclide Grant, Vacaville, Rocklin, Pleasant Grove and Jesuit. The loss was to Folsom.
4. Elk Grove (12-1)
The Thundering Herd rallied to beat Rio Linda in a thriller 22-15 to return to the D-II finals. Tommy Arnold performed like a leader and champion.
5. Rio Linda (11-2)
The Knights lost a heartbreaker to Elk Grove 22-15 and capped one of the finest seasons in school history. RB Marcel Brown will be back for more.
6. Pleasant Grove (10-3)
The Eagles lost to Oak Ridge 26-20 in a D-I semifinal, marking the end of a great career for standouts such as Wyatt Demps and Dre Terrell. Earlier wins were against Burbank, Rocklin and Jesuit with losses to Oak Ridge and Folsom.
7. Jesuit (9-4)
The Marauders won a playoff game for the first time in 10 years, then won another and then nearly toppled Folsom. Jason Elenberger had a terrific season.
8. Sacramento (11-2)
The Dragons are 2-0 in the D-III playoffs - the program's first-ever postseason victories. The latest was agaisnt defending champion Oakdale 40-21 as Caden Voges accounted for 4 scores.
9. Inderkum (10-3)
The Tigers lost to Manteca in a D-III semifinal, marking the end of a great run for C.J. Spencer and Jordan Thomas.
10. Yuba City (11-2)
The Honkers fell to Del Oro in D-II after beating St. Mary's and Grant in earlier rounds. RB Omar Herrera had a big year. The other loss was to Inderkum.
11. Grant (8-4)
The Pacers lost to Yuba City 27-12 in D-II play. Most of the team returns, including national recruit lineman Darrin Paulo and RB Deandre Whittington-Grays.
12. Granite Bay (8-4)
The Grizzlies lost to Oak Ridge in D-I play 28-17 after leading 17-14 at the half. Cam Smith returns next season, and probably Ernie Cooper as head coach.
13. Burbank (9-3)
The Titans lost to Elk Grove 18-12 in D-II play, despite an 99-yard kickoff return by Calvin Green. Other losses were to Grant and Pleasant Grove.
14. Rocklin (7-4)
Lost a D-II opener to Vacaville after starting the season 0-2. Beat Granite Bay with close losses to Oak Ridge, Del Oro and Pleasant Grove.
15. Center (9-3)
The Cougars lost to 13-0 Hilmar 19-15 in a D-IV semifinal, closing out a banner career for Tyrell Anderson, who had a 99-yard kickoff return.
16. Christian Brothers (9-4)
The Falcons lost to Sacramento 48-38 in a D-III semifinal. QB Chris Guillen will be back for more.
17. Franklin (8-4)
The Wildcats lost to No. 1 Folsom 49-16 in a quarterfinal. Franklin beat Elk Grove and tied for the Delta Valley Conference title.
18. Whitney (8-4)
The Wildcats had their 7-game winning streak snapped at Del Oro in D-II in a quarterfinal. Whitney won the Capital Athletic League.
19. Placer (6-6)
The Hillmen lost to Center in a D-IV quarterfinal, the same team it tied for the Pioneer Valley League title after starting the season 1-4.
20. Bradshaw Christian (10-2)
The Pride won the program's fourth section title since 2008 by beating Ripon Christian 35-28 in D-VI play under coach Drew Rickert.

- Joe Davidson
- On Twitter: @SacBee_JoeD

About the Prep blog

Bee staff writers Joe Davidson and Bill Paterson provide news, analysis and insight on the area high school sports scene in their Prep Blog. Have a question to ask them? Send them an email any time at or

Subscribe to Sports Breaking News alerts

Find us on Facebook

Prep Blog on Twitter

Follow "sacbee_preps" and "Sb_joedavidson" on Twitter

December 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        

Monthly Archives