Raiders Blog and Q&A

News, observations and reader questions about the Oakland Raiders

January 24, 2010
One man's A.P. NFL All-Pro Awards ballot

Now that the Associated Press football awards and All-Pro teams have been announced, I thought I'd post my votes for your perusal. This was my second year voting as one of the 50 writers and broadcasters selected nationally to vote for the awards. Former Bee sportswriter Jim Jenkins bequeathed his vote to me.

The knee-jerk reaction by so many non-voters is to wait until after the Super Bowl to cast ballots. But these awards are for the regular season and should remain as such. Otherwise, you'd have an All-Pro team comprised mostly of the Super Bowl champs.

Another complaint heard this year - how could Colts QB Peyton Manning be the league MVP but not the Offensive Player of the Year, which went to Titans RB Chris Johnson? And how could Chris Johnson not receive a single MVP vote despite being a unanimous pick to the All-Pro team? Easy, "MVP" to me means exactly that - most VALUABLE. The Colts without Manning would not have been a playoff team, rather than the AFC's No. 1 seed. The Titans without Johnson and his record-breaking season? They still wouldn't have made the playoffs.

Following then, my ballot:


The awards:

Most Valuable Player - Indianapolis Colts QB Peyton Manning
(actual winner - Manning)

Comeback Player - New England Patriots QB Tom Brady
(actual winner - Brady)

Defensive Rookie - Houston Texans LB Brian Cushing
(actual winner - Cushing)

Offensive Rookie - Minnesota Vikings WR Percy Harvin
(actual winner - Harvin)

Defensive Player - Green Bay Packers CB Charles Woodson
(actual winner - Woodson)

Offensive Player - Tennessee Titans RB Chris Johnson
(actual winner - Johnson)

Coach - Cincinnati Bengals' Marvin Lewis
(actual winner - Lewis)


WR (2) - Houston Texans' Andre Johnson, New England Patriots' Wes Welker
(actual picks - Johnson and Welker)

TE (1) - Indianapolis Colts' Dallas Clark
(actual pick - Clark)

T (2) - Denver Broncos' Ryan Clady, New Orleans Saints' Jonathan Stinchcomb
(actual picks - Clady and Cleveland's Joe Thomas)

G (2) - Minnesota Vikings' Steve Hutchinson, New Orleans Saints' Jahri Evans
(actual picks - Hutchinson and Evans)

C (1) - New York Jets' Nick Mangold
(actual pick - Mangold)

QB (1) - Indianapolis Colts' Peyton Manning
(actual pick - Manning)

RBs (2) - Tennessee Titans' Chris Johnson, Minnesota Vikings' Adrian Peterson
(actual picks - Johnson, Peterson)

FBs (1) - Baltimore Ravens' Le'Ron McClain
(actual pick - Philadelphia's Leonard Weaver)

Place Kicker (1) - Oakland Raiders' Sebastian Janikowski
(actual pick - San Diego's Nate Kaeding)

Kick Returner (1) - Cleveland Browns' Joshua Cribbs
(actual pick - Cribbs)


DE (2) - Minnesota Vikings' Jared Allen, Carolina Panthers' Julius Peppers
(actual picks - Allen and Indianapolis' Dwight Freeney)

DT (2) - Baltimore Ravens' Haloti Ngata, Arizona Cardinals' Darnell Dockett
(actual picks - Dallas' Jay Ratliff and Minnesota's Kevin Williams)

OLB (2) - Denver Broncos' Elvis Dumervil, Dallas Cowboys' DeMarcus Ware
(actual picks - Dumervil and Ware)

ILB (2) - San Francisco 49ers' Patrick Willis, Baltimore Ravens' Ray Lewis
(actual picks - Willis and Lewis)

CB (2) - Green Bay Packers' Charles Woodson; New York Jets' Darrelle Revis
(actual picks - Woodson and Revis)

S (2) - New Orleans Saints' Darren Sharper, Arizona Cardinals' Adrian Wilson
(actual picks - Sharper rand Wilson)

Punter (1) - Oakland Raiders' Shane Lechler
(actual pick - Lechler)

About Comments

Reader comments on are the opinions of the writer, not The Sacramento Bee. If you see an objectionable comment, click the "report abuse" button below it. We will delete comments containing inappropriate links, obscenities, hate speech, and personal attacks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. See more about comments here.

What You Should Know About Comments on is happy to provide a forum for reader interaction, discussion, feedback and reaction to our stories. However, we reserve the right to delete inappropriate comments or ban users who can't play nice. (See our full terms of service here.)

Here are some rules of the road:

• Keep your comments civil. Don't insult one another or the subjects of our articles. If you think a comment violates our guidelines click the "report abuse" button to notify the moderators. Responding to the comment will only encourage bad behavior.

• Don't use profanities, vulgarities or hate speech. This is a general interest news site. Sometimes, there are children present. Don't say anything in a way you wouldn't want your own child to hear.

• Do not attack other users; focus your comments on issues, not individuals.

• Stay on topic. Only post comments relevant to the article at hand. If you want to discuss an issue with a specific user, click on his profile name and send him a direct message.

• Do not copy and paste outside material into the comment box.

• Don't repeat the same comment over and over. We heard you the first time.

• Do not use the commenting system for advertising. That's spam and it isn't allowed.

• Don't use all capital letters. That's akin to yelling and not appreciated by the audience.

You should also know that The Sacramento Bee does not screen comments before they are posted. You are more likely to see inappropriate comments before our staff does, so we ask that you click the "report abuse" button to submit those comments for moderator review. You also may notify us via email at Note the headline on which the comment is made and tell us the profile name of the user who made the comment. Remember, comment moderation is subjective. You may find some material objectionable that we won't and vice versa.

If you submit a comment, the user name of your account will appear along with it. Users cannot remove their own comments once they have submitted them, but you may ask our staff to retract one of your comments by sending an email to Again, make sure you note the headline on which the comment is made and tell us your profile name.

hide comments

On October 14, The Sacramento Bee will temporarily remove commenting from While we design the upgrade, we encourage you to tell us what you like and don't like about commenting on and other websites. We've heard from hundreds of you already and we're listening. Please continue to add your thoughts and questions here. We also encourage you to write Letters to the Editor on this and other topics.

About Raiders Blog and Q&A

Matt Kawahara was born in Sacramento and attended McClatchy High School and UC Berkeley, where he wrote for the independent student paper The Daily Californian. He graduated from Cal in 2010 and started at The Sacramento Bee as a summer intern. He joined The Bee's sports staff in fall 2011.

Raiders stories on

October 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31