Kings Blog and Q&A

News, observations and reader questions about the Sacramento Kings and the NBA.

April 27, 2010
Evans is the Rookie of the Year

Tyreke Evans will be named Rookie of the Year three sources confirmed. A press conference is planned for Thursday.

Evans will receive the coveted award in Sacramento, according to sources who have knowledge of the details but were unauthorized to make the announcement.

Evans was the fourth overall pick in the 2009 NBA Draft and had one of the best rookie seasons in league history.

Evans became just the fourth rookie in league history to average at least 20 points, five rebounds and five assists.

Evans led all rookies by averaging 20.1 points. He was second among rookies at 5.8 assists per game and fifth at 5.3 rebounds per game. Evans' was second among rookies with 1.51 steals per game.

Evans is the first Kings rookie to win the award in the Sacramento era.

The last King to win Rookie of the Year was Kansas City King Phil Ford following the 1978-79 season. Jerry Lucas (1963-64) and Oscar Robertson (1960-61) won the award when the Kings were the Cincinnati Royals. Maurice Stokes (1955-56) won the award when the franchise was based in Rochester.

--Jason Jones

Kings Bloggers

Tag Cloud


November 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Monthly Archives